

BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND ANNUAL MEETING

TUESDAY, MAY 3, 2011 WASHINGTON, DC

Summary of Major Actions and Discussion

(These are not official minutes of the CHEA Board of Directors.)

Chair David G. Carter called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

TREASURER'S REPORT

The board of directors:

- Received the FY11 Third Quarter Financial Report.
- Received an update on FY11 CHEA membership.

CHAIR'S REPORT

Board of Directors Action on Recommendations of the CHEA Committee on Recognition

The board of directors approved the CHEA Committee on Recognition's recommendations to:

- Grant eligibility to seek CHEA recognition to:
 - Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education
 - Aviation Accreditation Board International
 - AACSB International
 - Psychological Clinical Science Accreditation System
 - Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education
 - National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education
 - Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools Middle States Commission on Higher Education
- Grant eligibility to seek CHEA recognition and approve a formal request for a change of scope to:
 - Association of Technology, Management, and Applied Engineering
- Award CHEA recognition to:
 - Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs

- Defer CHEA recognition of:
 - Accreditation Commission for Audiology Education
 - Council for Standards in Human Services Education
- Deny eligibility to seek CHEA recognition to::
 - American Association for Higher Education and Accreditation.

CHAIR'S REPORT

Election of CHEA Board Members

The board of directors elected five individuals to serve on the CHEA board for 2011-2014 and one individual to complete a two-year unexpired term on the board for 2011-2013:

- Andrew Benton, President, Pepperdine University, for a three-year term, July 1, 2011-June 30, 2014
- John Bassett, President, Heritage University, for a three-year term, July 1, 2011-June 30, 2014*
- Member-at-Large Bobby Fong, President, Butler University, for a three-year term, July 1, 2011-June 30, 2014*
- Joe May, President, Louisiana Community and Technical College System, for a three-year term, July 1, 2011-June 30, 2014**
- Craig Swenson, Chancellor, Argosy University, for a three-year term, July 1, 2011-June 30, 2014***
- Elsa Núñez, President, Eastern Connecticut State University, for a two-year term, July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2013

*Incumbent elected to serve a second three-year term.

**Initially served a one-year term (2010-2011)

***Initially served a two-year term (2009-2011)

Election of 2011-2012 Board Officers

The board of directors elected the following officers and members of the board's executive committee:

- David G. Carter, Chancellor Emeritus, Connecticut State University System, Chair
- Chuck Larson, Chair, ViaGlobal Group, Vice Chair
- Madlyn Hanes, Vice President, Commonwealth Campuses, Secretary
- John Bassett, President, Heritage University, Treasurer
- Larry Earvin, President & CEO, Huston-Tillotson University, Member-at-Large
- Bobby Fong, President, Butler University, Member-at-Large

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

2011-2012 Organizational Goals and Budget

President Judith Eaton presented the 2011-2012 organizational goals that address the Council for Higher Education Accreditation's (CHEA) major function areas of government affairs, recognition and membership services; the fourth year of the multi-year plan focused on the future of accreditation, the *CHEA Initiative*, and the Accreditation Advocacy Campaign reviewed at the January 2011 board of directors meeting.

Government Affairs

Vice President Friis reported that the U.S. Department of Education's (USDE) National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI) held a meeting on February 2-4, 2011 to address the current system of recognition and accreditation. He also reported that several hearings were held in March 2011 by the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives that addressed higher education and accreditation. The Senate hearings concentrated on for-profit higher education and accreditation's oversight of for-profit institutions, while the House hearings focused on the burden created by new federal regulations published in October 2010 to take effect July 1, 2011.

Mr. Friis reported that higher education associations and accrediting organizations worked together to send USDE and Congress several letters focusing on concerns related to the new definition of a credit hour and the state authorization regulations that go into effect July 1, 2011. He also indicated that USDE has issued three "Dear Colleague" letters, addressing state authorization, incentive compensation, misrepresentation and the definition of a credit hour. The latest Dear Colleague letter provides for a delay in the enforcement for the state authorization. Seventeen Republican Senators sent a letter on March 23, 2011 to USDE Secretary Duncan requesting the withdrawal of the final program integrity rules.

Mr. Friis reported that there are three additional letters of note. A letter to President Obama was signed by 113 Democrats and Republicans, asking the president to withdraw the gainful employment regulation scheduled to be implemented. A letter from Senator Mike Enzi (R-WY) to Secretary Duncan requested that the USDE provide all written correspondence concerning the development of the gainful employment regulation and a letter from Senator Enzi to the Securities and Exchange Commission and U.S. Attorney focused on improper involvement of investors in the gainful employment regulations.

Congressman Timothy Bishop (D-NY) is preparing to introduce legislation in the U.S. House of Representatives to combat diploma mills and accreditation mills.

The next meeting of the CHEA Board of Directors will take place September 19-20, 2011 in Washington, DC.



Council for Higher Education Accreditation One Dupont Circle NW, Suite 510 • Washington DC 20036 tel: 202-955-6126 • fax: 202-955-6129 e-mail: chea@chea.org • web: http://www.chea.org