

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 30, 2014 WASHINGTON, DC

Summary of Major Actions and Discussion

(These are not official minutes of the CHEA Board of Directors.)

Chair Dorothy Leland called the meeting to order at 9:06 a.m.

TREASURER'S REPORT

The board of directors:

- Accepted the FY14 external audit as presented.
- Received the FY14 fourth quarter financial report.
- Received an update on FY14 institutional membership.
- Approved the transfer of FY14 remaining funds.

CHAIR'S REPORT

The board of directors approved the Council for Higher Education (CHEA) Committee on Recognition's recommendations to:

- Award CHEA recognition to:
 - Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education
 - Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation
 - Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology
- Award CHEA recognition with a report to
 - Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education
 - Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education
- Defer CHEA recognition for:
 - Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges Western Association of Schools and Colleges
- Deny CHEA recognition to:
 - Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Education Programs

- Approve a formal request for a change of scope for:
 - Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs

The Commission on Sport Management Accreditation withdrew its application for eligibility to conduct a recognition review. This took place following the committee action to recommend denial of eligibility.

Appointment of 2014-2015 Committees

During the board meeting, board members indicated their preferences for committee participation. Committee membership for 2014-2015 is as follows:

Committee on Directors

- David Maxwell, Drake University, Chair
- Madlyn Hanes, Pennsylvania State University
- David Johnson, III, Intermountain Healthcare
- Paul LeBlanc, Southern New Hampshire University
- George Pruitt, Thomas Edison State College

Committee on Membership

- Elsa Núñez, Eastern Connecticut State University, Chair
- James Gaudino, Central Washington University
- Cynthia Jackson-Hammond, Central State University
- David Johnson, III, Intermountain Healthcare
- Joe May, Dallas County Community College District
- Judy Miner, Foothill College

Reserve, Investment and Audit Committee

- Satish Tripathi, University at Buffalo, SUNY, Chair
- John Bassett, Heritage University
- Harold Martin, Sr., North Carolina Agriculture and Technical State University
- Paula Rooney, Dean College
- Craig Swenson, Argosy University
- Lesley Wilson, European University Association

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Appointments to the Committee on Recognition

The board of directors appointed the following members to the Committee on Recognition for three-year terms (January 2015 – December 2017):

- Pauletta Brown Bracy, Director, Office of University Accreditation, and Professor, School of Library and Information Sciences, North Carolina Central University
- David K. Holger, Associate Provost for Academic Programs and Dean of the Graduate College, Iowa State University *

They will join committee members:

- Dan Aleshire, Executive Director, Association of Theological Schools-The Commission on Accrediting
- Barbara Brittingham, President and Director, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education, New England Association of Schools and Colleges
- William B. DeLauder (Chair), President Emeritus, Delaware State University
- Mary Jane Harris, Director, American Physical Therapy Association Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education
- E. Clorisa Phillips, Higher Education Consultant
- Mary Ann P. Swain, Professor, Decker School of Nursing, State University of New York at Binghamton

Government Affairs Report

The board of directors heard a report on congressional and other federal activities in anticipation of the reauthorization of the Higher Education Act. The House of Representatives has passed three bills addressing transparency, financial aid counseling and simplification of the applications process for financial aid. The House Education Committee released a white paper outlining House Republican policy proposals for reauthorization. Representative Paul Ryan (R-WI), Chair of the Budget Committee, released a draft, "Expanding Opportunity in America," which calls for "disrupting the accreditation status quo."

Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Chair Tom Harkin (D-IA) released a discussion draft for reauthorization that includes requiring accrediting organizations to make more documents available to the public. CHEA sent its own letter and organized a letter, signed by 26 accreditors, emphasizing the need for sustaining peer review and maintaining candor in accreditation. Senator Kay Hagan (D-NC) introduced a bill to establish a "reverse transfer" program to award associate degrees to students who qualify. Some members of Congress have voiced opposition to the president's proposed College Ratings System. Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN) said that he would attach an amendment to appropriations that would prohibit the use of funds for this purpose.

The National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI) requested that CHEA President Judith Eaton participate in a training session with its members, submit a paper and testify in connection with its June 2014 meeting. CHEA is working with the Task Force on Government Regulation of Higher Education to address accreditation-related regulations. CHEA met with accrediting organizations to discuss regulations that might be eliminated or modified. The Task Force asked President Eaton to prepare a white paper on accreditation.

^{*}Reappointment

2013-2014 Year-End Report

President Eaton called the board's attention to the progress report on the 2013-2014 organizational goals that addressed CHEA's four major function areas of government affairs, recognition, membership services and international quality review. She described the current work on the CHEA International Quality Group, implementation of the Accreditation Advocacy Campaign, the additional focus on innovation in accreditation, the Quality Platform and continuing to build relationships through conferences and meetings.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:52 a.m.

The next meeting of the CHEA Board of Directors will take place January 26, 2015 in Washington, DC.



Council for Higher Education Accreditation

One Dupont Circle NW, Suite 510 • Washington DC 20036 tel: 202-955-6126 • fax: 202-955-6129 e-mail: chea@chea.org • web: http://www.chea.org

©Copyright 2014 Council for Higher Education Accreditation. All rights reserved.